Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Read Along with Me: The Maze Runner #4

Check out my previous posts to see what the Read Along with Me group had to say about Chapters 1 – 9, Chapters 10 – 19, and Chapters 20 – 29.

You can also view the group’s hub on Sam’s Taking on a World of Words blog by clicking here.

ReadAlong1Maze

///

Chapters 30 – 39

Question #1 from Sultana: Since The Maze Runner is the first of a trilogy, I’m assuming that not all of our questions will go answered by the end of the book. What questions of yours do you hope will be answered by the end of the book? What do you think Dashner will actually answer and what he’ll leave to be resolved later in the series?

I’m really, really hoping that we find out who the Creators are before the end of the novel. The book is intriguing enough to keep me reading it, but not intriguing enough for me to commit to the other two books. No matter how it ends, I don’t feel I’ll continue on with the series.

Question #2 from Sam: In Chapter 33, we see that on the walls of the maze is the phrase “World in Catastrophe.” How do you rationalize this and the fear of those who have Changed that they don’t want to leave the maze?

I’m extremely curious about this, as well, but not enough to read the others books. L I have a feeling we’ll get a little bit more information about this before the end of this novel since Theresa says she triggered the end (which I’m assuming means the end of the experiment and not just the end of the Maze). Perhaps it’s a world war that has utterly destroyed the land, nuclear fallout, an alien invasion, a zombie apocalypse, the death of reality TV. All of those are reason enough to drive people crazy, right?! I bet it’s the last…

Question #3 from Barb: The signs in the maze that declare it part of the Killzone Experiment Department seem so ominous yet Minho dismisses them.  What obvious signs of disaster do we dismiss in our lives?  Al Gore’s “Inconvenient Truth” and Rachel Carson’s “Silent Spring” are some classic examples.

This is a brilliant question. So much goes on underneath our noses, and then when our eyes are finally opened to it we’re appalled. I’m not sure what the Killzone plaque means yet, but I’m sure once the boys find out Minho will be shocked that he didn’t understand it’s meaning earlier.

I feel like my heart has recently been opened to the amount of hunger and poverty that is in this country. I know food banks are always looking for donations and homeless people are always roaming the streets in St. Louis, but sadly it becomes something I don’t see or think about anymore, something I assume others are taking care of. I don’t know if that counts as a disaster, but it’s certainly a travesty that I need to quit dismissing.

Question #4 from Nicole: This idea of family, the things they see in the changing gives us this sense that their lives before were difficult, even among family members. However, these boys have banded together as a family. Why? They all came into the Glades as strangers, but they still care for each other like family. What has provoked this? Do you think it’s something that fell into place naturally or more deliberate?

I think the magnitude of their horrific situation is what has forced them to cling to one another. I don’t think they set out thinking they had to look after everyone. I’m sure in the beginning before friendships and bonds were established it was every man for himself. But I’m thinking their new family evolved naturally over time. Humans love and seek companionship in every situation, and I’m sure this is what brings the boys a sense of peace during their long and hard days in the Glade.

Question #5 from Katherine:  If the world is really messed up, then this experiment isn’t just a fact-gathering mission… nobody has time to build a miles-wide maze and wipe people’s memories and engineer Grievers just to record behavior for an anthropology paper when there are bombs going off outside their window. (Figuratively speaking.) What results do you think they’re going for? I’ve thought of a thousand things (looking for geniuses like in Ender’s Game, training them, protecting them, testing them…) but I feel like I can logically discount each one. It’s so frustrating! :)

It baffles me that the experiment could go on for two years. The craziness outside could end within two years. The whole world and everyone else could be destroyed within two years. I don’t get that part. I think they’re trying to find the strongest and brightest teenagers. All the variables of the maze were a way to weed them out. But now that they’ve gotten to the last bunch and the trigger is ended, why are they going to let them be eaten by Grievers? Do or die moment.

Question #6 from Lynn: We had a little more insight into the Maze itself in the last few chapters.  What do you think about the Maze, what is it and what do you think is its purpose?

I don’t think the Creators ever expected the boys to figure out the Maze. I think it was a mind game to see how they would react when nothing was stable and nothing seemed to lead them home. It’s almost like they had to send Thomas and Theresa in for the end since those two have some vague memories of what the Maze is in order to help the boys survive this last little bit.

4 comments on “Read Along with Me: The Maze Runner #4

  1. Sam
    June 25, 2014

    I like your idea about Thomas and Teresa’s memories being needed. I’ve read the next section and it supports that idea even more! Great post.

  2. heartofsultana
    June 29, 2014

    I like your thoughts on what the “World in Catastrophe” could be, I’d be most interested if it had to do with nuclear fallout or some uber destructive world war. I wonder how the boys would fit into that!

    But you know what, I think you are right, death of reality TV must be what caused the Catastrophe… no more Kardashians or Real Housewives on, haha! :)

  3. Pingback: Read Along with Me: The Maze Runner #5 | Life { Faith } Tea

  4. Pingback: Read Along with Me: The Maze Runner #6 | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2014 by in Book Review and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

