Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Formal Introduction

I’ve pushed away the thought of starting a blog for years. When the notion entered my mind, I quietly reminded myself that everyone and their dog has a blog. What do I have to say that they aren’t already saying? Nothing, I thought.

Flickr - Jain Basil Aliyas

Flickr – Jain Basil Aliyas

I recently met with the communications director at my office to discuss a few writing initiatives I will be apart of this year. I’m currently working as a résumé writer (I like to say I get paid to write short stories), and I look forward to dropping the résumé part one day. I have the opportunity to write blogs for my company and I plan on taking advantage of any other writing opportunities they throw my way. I told my colleague I was thinking of blogging personally and she shed new light on the idea. In passing, she said I don’t have to blog to gain readership, to land a book, to anything. I can just blog to blog. I can write because I love to write. Blogging will force me to write on a more regularly basis and become more disciplined in my craft.

A few months ago I read a book on writing by Stephen King that is titled, so poetically, On Writing. I don’t think you have to be a fan of King’s work to appreciate the way he has perfected the art. No matter what you say, the man can write. I wrote this quote down from the last chapter:

“Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, getting over. Getting happy? Okay, getting happy.

Some of this book – perhaps too much – has been about how I learned to do it. Much of it has been about how you can do it better. The rest of it – and perhaps the best of it – is a permission slip: you can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start – you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life as any other creative art. The water is free. So drink. Drink and be filled.”

As I type these words right now, I’m reminded of the first time I read them and the tears that welled up in my eyes and blurred the page. I wanted to be brave enough to start.

Alas, I am starting. I can’t say that my words will be original or profound, but they will be me. And that’s okay. Hi, I’m Ashlee.

3 comments on “Formal Introduction

  1. Pingback: What Life { Faith } Tea Means to Me | Life { Faith } Tea

  2. Pingback: 30 Things I Won’t Wish I Had Done During My Life | Life { Faith } Tea

  3. Pingback: How Many Lollipops Have You Handed Out Today? | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2013 by in Blogging, Faith, Life, Writing.

Navigation

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

