Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Matcha Whatcha?

If I’m going to put tea in my blog title, I’m going to have to commit to bringing you ramblings on tea every now and then. I’m convinced (that I’m using too many I’m’s) that writers have to be strangely fanatical about one of two things: cats or tea. I think it’s a requirement. Since I don’t make the rules, I just simply follow them, I had to default to tea since I’m allergic to cats. Tough break for felines.

MatchaI recently tried matcha for the first time. It’s a unique, bright green powder made of finely grated green tea leaves. Like other teas it is full of antioxidants, but since you are consuming the actual leaves, it provides some powerful nutritional value. According to Matcha Source, one cup of matcha is equivalent to 10 glasses of green tea. That’s intense. And it feels pretty fancy to use a bamboo whisk.

If you are brave enough to get your matcha on, here is a recipe I found on Matcha Source you might like:

  • 1 tsp matcha powder
  • 2 T fresh ginger, chopped or grated
  • 1/2 cup ice
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • honey (optional)

Blend the first three ingredients until ice is crushed. Then splash with lime juice and honey to taste.

2 comments on “Matcha Whatcha?

  1. Caleb
    April 10, 2013

    are writers allowed to make substitutes? i like tea (and this recipe looks worthwhile), but i’m at least near fanatical with my coffee. ha!

    • aaa4848
      April 11, 2013

      Yep, I think you’re allowed to sneak by with that obsession. Thanks for reading Caleb!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2013 by in Recipes, Tea and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

