Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Standing Alone

When I bought my trusty Honda seven years ago, she had 38,000 miles on her. Oh, how the miles go by!

When I bought my trusty Honda seven years ago, she had 38,000 miles on her. Oh, how the miles go by!

My car started making a funny noise last week. These are nine words you never want to say about your 11-year-old car. In an effort to remain debt free, I plan on maintaining this one until I have the resources to pay cash for the next one. By my obsessive calculations and recalculations, this is going to take about three years.

I took the car to my mechanic and prepared for the worst. When I replayed the noise over and over in my head while waiting for the diagnosis, it sounded like lots and lots of dollar signs. I was fearful it was the car’s end of days.

My thoughts started going over what the heck I would do if it was a $700, $1,000, $1,500 repair. I had money in savings to cover it, but was I really going to put that much money into it? I searched for answers in my head before finally opening up my Bible. I was reading Joshua at the time and I came to 1:9 (below).

Standing Alone

The footnote reminded me that we have to act in faith trusting God will help us through whatever situation we are in.

I know God wants us to follow His ways even when it’s hard. I know He will provide for us when it’s His timing. I know we need to be diligent in trusting Him. But how do we practically do that in a life that sometimes feels like it’s always against us?

All day I contemplated how we have to stand for God, even if it means standing alone. Dave Ramsey likes to say if you’re going in the complete opposite way of your friends, then you’re probably headed in the right direction. But knowing what you need to do and actually doing it are two people who live on separate sides of the house.

We recently watched a video with the students in our church youth group that talked about this very point. The video likened it to swimming upstream when the current keeps getting stronger and stronger. I know adults experience this same sensation almost every day. A quick Google search showed that of the 7.1 billion people in the world, 2.7 billion consider themselves Christian (according to The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life). Carry the three, dot the i, and that translates to 38%. My guess is that not all of the people in that group consider themselves to be Christ followers so that will bring the number down even more. What I’m getting at is at least 62% of the people I come into contact with might not have the same moral compass as me. That makes it 62% harder for me to muster up the courage and confidence I need to stand for God when others aren’t encouraging me to go in the right direction. Swimming upstream is exhausting. And letting the current take you would be so easy. During the three-mile walk from the car shop to my apartment I passed three car lots and two instant credit marts. It’s so tempting to throw in the towel and say to heck with it.

I was worried what other people would think if I decided to drop a large amount of cash on an aging car instead of trusting that God has his hand over that car. I forgot that making the decision that I know is right in this situation might allow me to witness my love and trust for God to someone else and continue to grow my own faith in Him.

When the phone rang later in the day, my breath caught in my throat as I said I quick prayer. Not, “Don’t let this be a huge repair, God.” But, “Help me to trust that You will provide.” The mechanic rambled off words that made no sense to me – rusted lower bearing something or other. $250 and I could have her back. My car and I would live to see another debt-free day. All that worrying for nothing…

Single Tree in a Green Field

So my challenge for you this Easter weekend is to consider if the next time you are faced with a challenge, a change of plans, or a curve ball, will you be brave enough to stand for God, even if it means standing alone? 

5 comments on “Standing Alone

  1. Pingback: Are You Putting God in a Box? | Life { Faith } Tea

  2. Pingback: Making the Impossible Possible | Life { Faith } Tea

  3. Pingback: Life Sans Credit: One Year Later | Life { Faith } Tea

  4. Pingback: What Life { Faith } Tea Means to Me | Life { Faith } Tea

  5. Pingback: My Epic Fail | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

