Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Who Have You Served Today?

Image credit: raywoo, 123rf.com

Image credit: raywoo, 123rf.com

“My children, we should love people not only with words and talk, but by our actions and true caring.” 1 John 3:18

I (would) like to give blood as one of my civic duties, one of my ways of showing true caring to others. I don’t have the blood type with special powers (O+), I just have a heart for it.

As a vegetarian who drinks copious amounts of tea, my iron rarely falls above the red line. One out of three is my batting average. Last week I was determined to blow their 12.5 minimum out of the water. I gave up tea for a whole week. Not one sip. Do you know how hard that was? But I didn’t stop there. I ate spinach and raisins every day. Do you know how hard that was? I even found a cereal with 90% of your daily recommend iron in it. I was determined.

Cruising into the blood bank, I thought I was at a 13 for sure. Maybe even a 14. Maybe.

First prick…11.3. Second prick…12.3. I tried pleading with the phlebotomist.

“But…”

“Sorry ma’am.”

“Can you…?”

“No ma’am.”

“What if…?”

“You can try again tomorrow, ma’am.”

Apparently they take that 12.5 minimum very seriously.

While I research new volunteer opportunities, all you meat-eaters out there should consider donating blood this week to make up for us iron-deficient plant-eaters! Here, I’ll even give you the website to find a blood drive near you:

American Red Cross Blood Drives

And that concludes today’s public service announcement. Go do good!

Do Good

One comment on “Who Have You Served Today?

  1. Pingback: BigStuf or Bust | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Do Good, Serving, Tea and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

