Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Be Nice or Leave

Be Nice

saw a sign on Etsy with the saying “Be Nice of Leave” on it and I contemplated buying it for my front door, but then I realized some days I wouldn’t be allowed in my own house. Some days my thoughts and words are far from nice.

In light of the tragedy in Boston on Monday, I’ve been thinking a lot about what I would do differently if tomorrow was my last day. Last week I posted about how I don’t know how people make it through something like that. I don’t know how the healing process can begin without God. But now I’m thinking about what I hope I can say about my life one day.

I hope I can say I was brave enough to chase my dreams. I was bold for God. I was kind to others.

I’m sure when Krystle Campbell, one of the victims, left her house Monday morning, she thought she was going to cheer on her loved one, celebrate the achievement afterwards, sleep in her own bed that night, go to her job the next morning, and live her normal life like she did every other day. But that’s not what happened. Unfortunately, this is yet another tragic reminder that we have to have the urgency to live a full life in this moment. And in this one. And in this one, as well.

I left my house this morning, lived my everyday life, and then was blessed with the chance to walk back through my front door this evening. But if I hadn’t been so fortunate, what would I have done differently last night? Would I have spent a little less time doing the dishes and checking Facebook so I could say hi to a family member? Would I have spent a little more time with God instead of watching a movie I had already seen?

I often shy away from being brave, and I often fail at being bold, but there is no reason why I can’t find a way every single day to be kind to someone around me. I have no excuse for failing to live that out.

When I moved into my apartment last summer, I was without a TV for the first few weeks. I remember being so frustrated my first weekend here because I just wanted to zone out and watch something monotonous and non-life enriching, I’m sure. Coincidentally, my laptop refused to play any audio that same weekend. Grumbling and complaining my way through the day, I eventually took the time to send an email to a friend whose son was undergoing chemo

Image credit: suriko8, 123RF.com

Image credit: suriko8, 123RF.com

treatments at the time. I told her I was praying for him often and just wanted to send her some love. She responded that my note had made her day. She said the love and compassion of others during the difficult time had been truly humbling. All I did was take two minutes to send a quick note, but it came at a time when she needed it most.

I think God silenced all of the background noise in my world that weekend to remind me of the difference I can make with my words, my actions, my time if I continuously make the commitment to live for others, to think of others, to be nice to others.

I don’t want to wait for tragedy to strike before I remember what I am living for. If I am every brave enough to place that “Be Nice or Leave” sign on my front door, I hope I will be granted permission to walk through it each and every day. Then maybe I’ll have the courage to place two more on it that say, “Be Brave or Leave” and “Be Bold for God or Leave.”

What about you? What would your sign say? “Be _______ or Leave.”

“Let us think about each other and help each other to show love and do good deeds.” Hebrews 10:24

“We must not become tired of doing good.” Galatians 6:9

“Trust in the Lord and do good.” Psalm 37:3

“Pure and lasting religion in the sight of God our Father means that we must care for orphans and widows in their troubles, and refuse to let the world corrupt us.” James 1:27

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Do Good, Hope, Kindness, Life and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

