Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Show Some Love

I recently started following The Live Simply Blog and Amanda created the Jump of the Ladder Challenge to inspire people to make a drastic change for 20 days to enrich their lives. Whether you want to give up extra-curricular activities to spend more time on your passion, cook at home to save on eating out, or pare down to a minimalist wardrobe, it can be whatever you feel is dragging you down.

Since I’m doing pretty well at getting rid of my crap and paying off my debt, I made the decision to add something to my life instead of take something away. I decided my challenge would be to show some love to my friends, meaning I would call 20 people in 20 days to say hi, catch up, tell them I was praying for them, or tell them how much they mean to me. For those of you who know me, you understand that this is a BIG BIG deal. I don’t pick up the phone to call people ever. My mom likes to joke that when she calls my brother, he’ll get back with her within the hour; when she calls my sister, she’ll get back with her within a day; when she calls me, I’ll get back with her in two weeks.

I think we sometimes forget how powerful a word of encouragement can be, even if it’s during a quick two-minute conversation or left on a voicemail. So far I’m at nine conversations and four voicemails.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A few things I’ve realized the past 12 days of the challenge:

–   Even if nothing extreme or exciting was going on in our lives, we still found plenty to laugh about.

–   Conversations that I thought would last five minutes sometimes lasted 45 minutes. What exactly we talked about, I don’t know. But I enjoyed every minute of it.

–   If I last talked to the friend one month ago or one year ago, it didn’t matter. We were able to pick up right where we left off, and that is always an amazing feeling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This challenge has me think about how important it is to support one another. Scripture can’t say enough about it:

Let us think about each other and help each other to show love and do good deeds.” Hebrews 10:24

So encourage each other and give each other strength.” 1 Thessalonians 5:11

But encourage each other every day while it is today. Help each other so none of you will become hardened because sin has tricked you.” Hebrews 3:13

Fellowship is huge and encouragement can go a long ways. Wherever your friends are at today, meet them there. Support them through whatever they are going through. If they’re on top of the moon, give them a high five. If they’re at rock bottom, help dig them out. If they’re chasing their dream, try your best to buy it, listen to it, read it, like it, or share it with others. They will be grateful for every bit of love you send their way, and you will be made the richer for it. Show some love today.

Check The Live Simply Blog for the June Jump Off the Ladder Challenge. You never know where 20 days will lead you!

10 comments on “Show Some Love

  1. Reblogged this on The Live Simply Blog and commented:
    A lovely update from a JOtL participant who chose to enrich her life through communication!

    • Ashlee
      May 24, 2013

      I’m loving your 20 day challenges Amanda! Such an inspiring blog.

  2. Carrie Lange
    May 23, 2013

    I fell off the ladder recently, with caring for my elderly mom… I’m so tired… hope to be back on the ladder soon, ladies!

    • Ashlee
      May 24, 2013

      Sorry to hear about your mother. 😦 I’ll say a prayer for her and for you! Hope some renewed energy finds you soon.

  3. JD
    May 24, 2013

    What a lovely post and such a great thing to do. Very inspiring. I do something similar and make a point of writing letters to people but just doing this randomly and telling them how much I appreciate them. Perhaps doing it every day, one a day would be a cool challenge for me.

    • Ashlee
      May 24, 2013

      Thanks for your kind words JD! I’m sure your friends love getting those notes from you. I think you would enjoy the one a day challenge! If you decide to take it on, stop back by to let us know how it goes.

  4. Katy
    May 25, 2013

    Hi Ashlee – I really like the idea of reconnecting with people and adding that into your life. I’ve been doing a bunch of research on happiness for a book I’m writing and one of the big contributors to happiness is having strong, meaningful connections to other people. So you’re on the right track! I’ll think today about Amanda’s challenge and see what I can do for 20 days. It’s a great idea! ~Katy

    • Ashlee
      May 26, 2013

      Thanks for reading Katy! Your research sounds very interesting. I hope the book is coming along nicely! I think 20 days is the perfect amount of time to try something new. Not so long that it feels overwhelming, but long enough to make a habit stick. Best – Ashlee

  5. calebjwestbrook
    May 29, 2013

    This is a great challenge! Thanks for sharing your experience. I will have to continue brainstorming ideas for myself.

    • Ashlee
      May 29, 2013

      I’m trying to decide what I want to tackle in June, as well. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in Do Good, Kindness, Serving and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

