Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

The Bu$iness of Dying

Coins in a Glass JarMy cube-mate’s grandfather recently passed away and she has been calling probate attorneys to discuss the will, the assets, the bank accounts, the money. I try not to overhear but in our tight quarters it’s impossible to not catch some of it. It sounds like all the family members are already fighting over who gets how much. They’ve probably been fighting about it for years. It seems that individuals are barely put into the ground before people want to know what they can have of theirs.

My family is no different. My grandfather used the will to manipulate others. If you didn’t do what he asked you to, you were taken out of the will. If you redeemed yourself in his eyes, you were put back in. The fighting between family members went on for years. They were led to believe that there was this large sum of money, but in the end the amount had been exaggerated. All that fighting for nothing. The permanent damage had already been done, though. 

After watching this unfold, I told my parents I pray they spend every last dime before they move on to the next life. I hope my siblings and I are never tempted to split the family and sacrifice our relationships over a little bit of money. But it happens. It happens every day. I’m sure it happens to people who say it won’t. I hope a lifetime of great memories with my family members is worth more than $5,000 or $10,000 or $20,000.

I’m coming at this topic as someone who has enough to pay my bills each month. I make a modest wage, I live a modest lifestyle, and I’m able to keep myself out of debt and build a little savings each month. I’m not in dire straits. I’m not watching my parents pour loads of cash into a sibling who doesn’t deserve it. I haven’t been burned by anyone. I realize this makes my opinion biased.

For wisdom on the issue, you can turn to Matthew 6:19-21:

Do not store up for yourself treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourself treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Dave Matthews wasn’t too far off on the subject with something along the lines of, “In the end it all stacks up so tall to one big nothing, one big nothing at all.”

What matters most to you? Where can your heart be found these days? “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” What do you treasure above all else? We let our lives be dictated by things that add up to nothing in the end anyways. Life is short, our hours are fleeting in the big scheme of things, so what are we going to let ourselves be controlled by while we’re here? Money over love? Greed over humility? Things over family?

MP900382630

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”
Psalm 18:2

I heard Building 429’s new song, We Won’t Be Shaken, is based off of this verse. Our jobs are not our rock. Our homes are not our rock. Our careers are not our rock. Our family is not our rock. When all of those things disappear, our real rock will be standing there. And I can tell you right now it isn’t money. Money won’t do a single thing to save us. Not even for one second.

2 comments on “The Bu$iness of Dying

  1. tersiaburger
    June 8, 2013

    Lovely post. Unfortunately, family always lash out in grief – years of frustration comes to the surface….money is almost always a trigger regardless of the amount. You are a wise soul.

    • Ashlee
      June 8, 2013

      Thank you for your kind words! It is a touchy subject and I almost backed down from it, but I hope it helps me and all you readers to focus on the right things in tough situations. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in Finances, God, Life, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

