Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

29 Reminds Me Of…

When I think of turning 29, I am reminded of one of my first memories of my mother. She was joking with a friend that she was turning 29 for the second time. As my first 29th birthday approaches on Saturday, I’m rather freaked out that my mother had a second child who was old enough to remember this monumental event in her life. My life at 29 and my mom’s life at 29 are worlds apart. Below is a compare and contrast, if you will, of where we were and are.

What was your life like at 29?

Mom: Busy, busy, busy. It was so loud then. I had three kids (ages 9, 7, and 4), I was married, and I worked full time.
Ashlee:
Quiet, very quiet. I’m not married and don’t have kids yet. I live alone and life is far from loud.

How did you spend a free Saturday?

M: It depended on what time of year it was. In the summer, we were packing coolers and floaties and headed out on the boat.
A:
I sleep in as late as I want, drink tea all morning while reading the Bible or going over prayer requests, and I make room for a walk and writing in the afternoon. Sadly enough, you can usually find me babysitting on a Saturday night. Hey, if you don’t have your own, you might as well get paid to hang out with someone else’s, right? I realize this doesn’t really help my cause for procreating.

Was your life where you thought it would be?

M: Yes, I was where I thought I would be – married and a mother. I didn’t have my own life. You did what you needed to do to get your kids through school. I attended lots of meetings back then. 4H, PTA, Sports.
A:
Not at all. I thought I would have the trifecta by this age – a marriage, kids, and a mortgage. For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to be a stay-at-home mom who writes her novels while the kids sleep. Maybe I’ll get that in my 30s.

Do you feel your age?

M: I started feeling my age closer to 50.
A:
Heck no. I don’t know how anyone let me get this old. I still think I’m 24. I’ve been practicing saying I’m 29 for four months so I’m worried people are going to think this birthday is the big one instead of the last one.

Were your 30s better than your 20s?

M: My 30s were much better. My 40s were the best. My 50s I’m not so thrilled with. In your 20s you’re trying too hard to figure your life out and in your 30s you realize it’s not about figuring it out, it’s about living it. You get more comfortable in your skin as you get older.

What advice do you have for people entering their 30s?

M: Slow down and enjoy every minute of it. Everybody tells you that the years go by faster as you get older, but it’s hard to grasp that until you get older and realize it’s so true. I like to remember this, “Enjoy the little things in life because one day you’ll realize they were the big things.”

167

Like mother, like daughter

4 comments on “29 Reminds Me Of…

  1. Pingback: Spontaneity and Michigan | Life { Faith } Tea

  2. Sara
    July 12, 2013

    🙂 Lovely article. Very helpful for me as well (age 26). Thanks.

    • Ashlee
      July 12, 2013

      Thank you for reading, Sara! Mamas are always full of wisdom, aren’t they?

  3. Pingback: 13 Going on 30 | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in Life, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

