Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Oh, Hello Acquisition

Some days you find yourself at a fork in the road. Maybe you’ve placed the fork there yourself, or maybe someone has places it there for you.

Either way, a new path has to be forged.

MH900439288

Last Wednesday, I walked into work with my co-workers unsuspecting that it was the beginning of the end. Our owner called a last minute meeting and informed us that we were sold to a competitor. We walked out of the meeting shell-shocked. I quickly text a friend to say I wish I had showered that morning. I thought the enemy’s CEO would dismiss me with one flick of her tiny wrist if she saw the state of my disheveled ponytail.

We are (were) a team of 38. We share meals together regularly, we celebrate each other’s good news and grieve each others’ bad news, we spend time together on the weekends. As I’ve had time to process the news, I’ve begun to realize that a good portion of why I love my job so much is the people and the atmosphere and the office culture. And soon all of that will be gone.

The past two weeks have been filled with doing everything we can to keep our jobs. Preparing résumés, practicing interview questions, freaking out about what will happen if we don’t make the cut. We’re already exhausted over the whole thing and nothing has even happened yet. There is so much before us – saying goodbye to those who are let go, relearning our jobs and the new company’s processes/technology, moving to a different office, and getting to know new team members and managers.

While researching questions I should ask while we go through the acquisition, I found this tidbit:

Be sure you have a support system in place to help you grieve for the loss of beloved co-workers, admired mentors
and a workplace that changed when you didn’t want it to.

The person I go to when I don’t know how to approach a project or want to share a new picture of my nephew may not be there for much longer. The job where I get to help others and write every day might be taken away from me. That’s hard to process. It makes my heart heavy.

Ironically, we just talked about John 16:33 at church.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jesus guarantees 100% that our lives will suck at one point or another. We’ll be down, we’ll be out, we’ll be miserable, but He’s bigger that all of that. In fact, He’s already taken care of it. It’s finished. Done. Period. End of sentence.

I know I can look at it as an awful thing or a blessing. I can choose to despise what we will have to go through or embrace it and learn all I can from it. I’m determined to maintain the mentality that if they let me go, that means it is time for the next adventure to begin. I’ve said before that life and the decisions we make are all about what we do with them and how we grow from them. God’s hopes and plans for me are bigger than my own and one little set back like this isn’t going to stop Him.

Maybe this time next week I won’t have a job, or maybe I’ll have a better job. I don’t know what God will need me to walk through, but I have today and you have today so what shall we do with it? Pursue a dream? Hug a loved one? Take a chance?

7 comments on “Oh, Hello Acquisition

  1. annabachinsky
    August 16, 2013

    It’s so important to cling to God and trust Him in times like these. I was laid off very abruptly and unexpectedly at my last job and
    I thought my world was over for a few days. But within a month I got hired at a new job with the greatest company and boss I could dream of working with. And if it weren’t for me getting laid off at that time I never would have even thought about getting the job I am at now because I wouldn’t have been looking. My very horrible thing turned out to be a huge blessing in disguise. Maybe this will be for you as well 🙂 if not, at least it will teach you to depend on God more. Hope it all turns out good for you!

    • Ashlee
      August 16, 2013

      Thank you for the encouragement, Anna! That is very sweet of you to share your story. It always amazes me how God is working in the background when we don’t realize it. I’m glad He’s such a pro at what He does. 🙂 And you’re right, dependence and trust are what will get us through. Thanks for stopping by!

      • annabachinsky
        August 19, 2013

        God definitely know what He’s doing! 🙂 I’m so glad I can trust Him in the darkest of times. Keep us updated on what happens.Be blessed!

  2. Pingback: Step 1: Get Up | Life { Faith } Tea

  3. Pingback: Oh, Hello Job | Life { Faith } Tea

  4. Pingback: Believe | Life { Faith } Tea

  5. Pingback: I Stayed Inside | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2013 by in Bible, God, Hope and tagged , , , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

