Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

You Have One Wish. Use It Wisely.

In 1 Kings 3, God told King Solomon, “Ask for whatever you want me to give you,” and Solomon asked for a discerning heart to govern over his people. God decided to not only give him a wise and discerning heart, but also everything else he could ever want on earth. That man had a lot of stuff. But that’s not what I want to ramble about today.

What I’d like to focus on is the wish. If you had one wish from God, what would it be? I played the “say the first thing that comes to your mind” game and contentment is what came out. If I had that, then I could accept that where I’m at is where I need to be. There would be no searching for more, no wishing I was this or that. I know that asking for a family wouldn’t solve my problems. Neither would a larger salary or a new car or never having to work. My life wouldn’t be better if I was prettier or more charming or less of an introvert.

I can repeat it over and over until I’m blue in the face, but I still haven’t found contentment in or accepted it from Christ. I have more than enough. I have a job and a home. I have a loving church home and wonderful relationships with my parents and siblings. But I long for more. I long for adventure and an unconventional life.

I recently reconnected with a friend from college, and just like the first time we knew each other, we always find ourselves debating the purpose of our lives. I come at the conversation as a Christ follower and he comes at it as an atheist. We both feel a heavy weight on our shoulders to do big things, never settle, travel, and explore. We don’t want to believe in the mentality that you must work 9-5 until you’re 75 and then you must retire to your rocking chair. We want every moment of our lives to be filled with life.

During our last conversation, I shared with him that while I love where my life is at right now, I hope this isn’t it for the next 5, 10, 50 years. I told him some of the big things I want to do, places I want to see, and interests I want to explore…someday. I can feel that where I am is where God needs me to be right now, so those things will have to wait. “I have all these things I want for my life but even though I want them, I can hear God say no,” I shared with him. My friend doesn’t think that is any way to live.

He gave me a huge (metaphorical) slap in the face as he responded, “When I talk to other Christians about this, they tell me that the reason I feel so incomplete is because I don’t have God in my life. But you do have God in your life and you still don’t feel complete.” Ouch. Good point, my friend. Thanks for pointing out that I just did an awful job of witnessing right there.

I didn’t know what to say. I stammered off something like, “I know God should be enough, but becoming a Christian didn’t fix me. I’m still human.” Again, huge fail at witnessing.

At the root of this particular part of me that is still broken is the absence of contentment. I posted on this subject not that long ago, and I have a feeling it will come up again and again. It’s something I lack and something I will have to fight to find.

I didn’t want to blurt out a church answer for the sake of having a church answer, but it really was the first thing that came to mind. Now I challenge you to do the same. How would you respond if God stood before you and asked, “Child, what do you want me to give you?”

One comment on “You Have One Wish. Use It Wisely.

  1. Pingback: Can I Get an Amen? | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2013 by in Bible, Christianity, God and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

