Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

I Am _______

If you’ve left the house or picked up the phone today, you’ve most certainly encountered the customary, “How are you?” We all say it, none of us mean it as a real question. One of my co-workers flings his answer out so fast I’m convinced I could say, “I’m fine. How are you surviving with that face of yours?” and he’d respond, “Fine, thanks” without missing a beat. It’s what we do. We ask people how they are as a way of saying hello. “Hi, how are you?” means, “Hi.”

My mother recently threw me for a loop, though. She read an article where the author shared that she responds to that question with, “I’m blessed.” Not good, or fine, or tired, or mad. Just blessed. And you know what? It’s the honest truth. How many times have you thrown good, fine, or great out there when you felt poor, depressed, or defeated? Little white lies, tsk tsk, but even in the midst of our poor, depressed, or defeated days we are still blessed.

We are blessed every minute of every day regardless of if we stop to recognize it. If you’re reading this post right now, then you’ve been blessed with eyesight to see and a computer/tablet/smart phone to access the internet with. If you’ve gotten out of bed today, then you’ve been blessed with legs that move and a heart that beats.

I stop a lot throughout the day to complain about what I’m missing. I don’t think I have ever gone through a day without complaining about something. I’m pretty positive I’ve gone multiple days in a row, possibly even weeks on end, without realizing how blessed I am. It’s easy to focus on the negative instead of embracing the positive.

I think we like to think of blessings as tangible goods. Something that does something for us. In the Beatitudes (Matthew 5), Jesus shares a long list of people who are blessed, and not one item on this list is a tangible good. You won’t find, “Blessed are those who own a 6,000 sq. ft. house.” Or, “Blessed are those who vacation in Europe.” It’s not about that. It’s never been about that.

****************************************************************************

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be fulfilled.
Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.” Matthew 5:3-11

****************************************************************************

It’s about realizing that no matter who we are, no matter what we do, no matter what we think, we are loved. Unconditionally and forever. No take backs. No strings attached. No cold feet. Just love. The blessing of love.

This past week I tried twice to respond with, “I’m blessed,” when someone asked how I was. My attempts were not successful. It doesn’t roll off the tongue as easily as fine or good. Twenty-nine years of conditioning will take awhile to undo, I guess. But I’m going to work on it. I’ll keep trying until it finally comes out. Think of how many times you’re asked this question throughout the course of your day. Think of how many reminders you’ll have that you are blessed.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2013 by in Bible, Christianity and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

