Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

NaNo Week #1: Beginner’s Luck

I wasn’t expecting this to happen. Like, at all.

My goal was to be at 10,000 words at this point in the game. I’m sitting at 16,319.

November 1st and 2nd I posted over 4,500 each day. This must be beginner’s luck. As I walked up my apartment steps on Friday night, I had that little tinge of doubt in my gut. “Am I really capable of this?” I asked myself. I hadn’t typed one word yet and I was scared. But before I knew it, the words were free flowing for hours.

I’m glad I didn’t waste any time making writing playlists. Like I said in my about page, my iPod knows when I’m writing. It’s a freakish thing, but it seems to know the mood I’m in when I put it on shuffle. Friday when I sat down for my writing session, the first song to play was Motivator by Midwest Product. With a song title like that, how could I fail?

I have a feeling this is going to be like the show The Biggest Loser. People post huge numbers the first week, somewhat decent numbers the second week, and then completely stall out the third week. I don’t want to get too confident yet. I’m thrilled that all my prep work in September and October wasn’t in vain, though. It would have been embarrassing to spend more time preparing for NaNo than writing during NaNo.

One thing that has surprised me is the random secondary characters that have walked into the plot without being invited. I’m not mad they’re here, I just had no idea they would show up. I did a pretty extensive outline so I thought I had worked out who all I needed to join the party. Apparently I was wrong. I kind of like it.

The best part about this experience so far is the community. As soon as we WriMos end our novel writing sessions, we log onto WordPress and write about what we just wrote. And then we read what others wrote about their writing. And then we log into the forums and learn about ways that we can write better. We are a bunch of word nerds and I love it! 

4 comments on “NaNo Week #1: Beginner’s Luck

  1. Lily Hall - Author
    November 8, 2013

    Definitely agree with you on the suddenly new characters that pop up. I just wrote the intro to one and I think he’s going to be one of my favorite characters. Here’s to Nov 30th and the 50,000 words!

    • Ashlee
      November 8, 2013

      Woo hoo! I’m really enjoying this process. I’ve been thinking about my idea for years and I don’t think I ever would have sat down to work on it if it weren’t for NaNo. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. emofalltrades
    November 8, 2013

    Good luck, Motivator!

    • Ashlee
      November 8, 2013

      Thank you! I think I’m on a word high right now. I’m curious to see what the second week slump is going to look like for me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2013 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

