Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

NaNo Week #2: Dance Parties

Where I thought my word count would be: 23,000

Where I am: 31,059

I have found the key to unblocking your brain and uncramping your hands when they both refuse to write any more. Spontaneous, wildly terrible, and obnoxious dance parties. This, my friend, is the answer.

When I need a break, I play a pop song and go crazy down the hallway. It’s freeing, it’s liberating, it’s embarrassing (good thing I live alone). But it works. It reminds me to stop taking myself and my writing so seriously. I’ve learned that when you start to take something too seriously, you suck the fun right out of it. Loosen up. Stretch your legs. Dance with me, people.

This weekend I had a visitor stay with me, and she became my writing buddy by default. It was nice to have someone to bounce ideas off of.

“Is 3,000 words of straight dialogue too much? Too little?”

“Should Missy invite Eldon over for chicken and dumplings or roast beef?”

"Are you sure you know what you're doing?" she asks.

“Are you sure you know what you’re doing?” she asks.


The question is, if a mid-month meltdown doesn’t seize me in the next four days, can I fake it? Don’t think for one second that I’ve forgotten about the
peanut butter filled chocolate bits of heaven that are in the closet I never use that is blocked by a piece of furniture for when I crack. I can hear them call my name each time I walk past the door.

Ashlee,” they whisper, “you’re melting…”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2013 by in Writing and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

