Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

I’m Thankful For:

photo 2 (6)Thankfulness is definitely a topic I bring up a lot. I think living with a thankful heart has the power to change a lot of things.

At the end of January, my church handed out a small green card with 28 empty lines on the back of it. Our challenge was to write down one thing we were thankful for each day in February. Since I’m always looking for ways to focus on what I already have instead of what I think I need, I immediately placed the card on my refrigerator as a reminder to stick with the challenge.

I was surprised by how much I looked forward to selecting what to write down each day. Sometimes it was small things, like opening my moon roof on the drive home (it’s been a tough, tough winter!) or eating a chocolate chip muffin while watching Downton Abbey, and sometimes it was something big, like finding courage from God to do the right thing and getting to help with a student ministry retreat. Now that the card is completely full, it puts a smile on my face to read through them and see how each day was unique and filled with blessings.

It’s easy to go about our day distracted by all the things that need to get done, and we often forget to take time tophoto 4 (3) realize how much we have to be thankful for. If you’re like me, you might take so many of those things for granted because they’re always there, day in and day out. It feels like more of a right for my refrigerator to be filled with food than a privilege. I expect my car to start when I turn the key, water to flow from the faucet when I push the nozzle, and the lights to come on when I flip the switch. But what if we started to see these things as something we are deeply thankful for instead of something that should always be there?

Changing your mindset takes determination, but I think we can all train ourselves to focus on what really matters in life. Now I pass the challenge on to you. Turn March into your month of thankfulness and start your own list. Fill it with what excites you, warms you, and makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Joy and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

