Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

A Perfect Tea Indulgence

Spicy. Sweet. Creamy. Uplifting.

I sit with a cuppa chai latte steaming by my fingers. The morning outside my kitchen window is dark and silent, begging for a few more minutes of sleep before rising. Very few cars pass on the street and even fewer people pass on the sidewalk. It feels as if the day is mine for the taking.

Most days, I love being awake before the rest of the world for this very reason. I sip in silence and let the warmth of the cup surround me. It seems silly to do work before the sun comes up so I have no reason to rush from the kitchen on this chilly morning in March. I linger a minute, taking in the dark sky, the warm cup, the smells of ginger and vanilla filling the room.

I hear the birds stirring outside my bedroom window, which means the sun is indeed rising. They flutter and chirp in the nest that they built in the window sill. They were here last year and I tried multiple times to get them to leave. Not that I didn’t like them, but they woke me up at 6:30 every Saturday morning (the only day of the week I get to sleep in) between March and June until their three chirping babes took the plunge out of the nest and into the rest of their lives. When I heard the two lovers return in February to begin the process all over again, I decided to smile instead of cringe. They are welcome now, and I am excited to hear the tiny chirps once the eggs hatch.

Indeed it is time for me to seize the day by diving into my work. There is something strangely exciting about sitting in front of my laptop with a blank Word document before me, a flashing black cursor reminding me that he is nothing unless I will him to be something. I inhale the powerful scent of the chai tea, a scent that will linger in the house well into the afternoon, and smile at the thought of all the places we will go. Me, a cuppa tea, and a blank Word document, that is. Today will be a good day.

***

photo 2 (8)

Thank you to Alicia over at ProlixMe for recommending I try Tazo Chai Latte, a perfect little indulgence. Mix half chai latte concentrate and half milk, heating over the stove or chilling over ice. It’s very, very sweet, and I’m a sweet person, but next time I’ll add a little more milk than concentrate when warming up the drink. I enjoyed it more over ice, and the half and half combination was perfect that way. It was a delicious way to shake up my morning tea routine, and I highly recommend it to my fellow tea lovers. Chai on!

photo 1 (9)

3 comments on “A Perfect Tea Indulgence

  1. leesha0304
    March 28, 2014

    oh excellent! I’m glad you tried it and liked it. Sounds like it made your morning a chill and poetic experience. 🙂

    By the way – since you love tea – have you seen the new Kermit tea commercial? It’s really cute.

    • Ashlee
      March 28, 2014

      I just checked it out – so adorable! I think I’ll be more tea today, too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: What the Road Does to Me | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2014 by in Tea, Writing and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

