Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Hit Me Over the Head with It, Why Don’t Ya

I’ve been camping out in Ecclesiastes for many weeks now. I keep reading the 12 chapters over and over again, finding new take aways each time. It’s getting to the point where almost every verse is highlighted or circled or underlined. It’s a little obnoxious.

Okay, God, I get it! I need to work on letting go of things of this world. I need to remember that it’s all nothing without You. I need to refocus what I’m focused on.

Ecclesiastes was written by Solomon, a king who is believed to be the wisest person ever to live. God gave him all the wisdom in the world, and Solomon pursued every desire of his heart. He denied himself nothing just to realize at the end of his life that everything in the world wasn’t enough. Something was still missing.

I’m easily entangled by the trap of, “Once I have this, this, and this…then I’ll be the person I need to be: happy, content, whole.”

But Solomon has hit me over the head (repeatedly) with the fact that this, this, and this, whatever that, that, and that is, won’t be the right thing once I get it. Because everything in this world still isn’t enough.

Ecclesiastes 7:29 says, “God created mankind upright, but they have gone in search of many schemes.” I know I sure do. Instead of letting the source of life be enough for me, I look to His creations instead. People, things, feelings. Idols, treasures, work. And then I’m shocked when they aren’t enough.

What do you mean I’m finally at my goal weight and I don’t feel skinny enough? What do you mean I finally have some money in the bank but I don’t feel financially secure? What do you mean I finally get a promotion but I’m no more satisfied at work?

The list can go on and on with things that are not enough even though before we had them we were convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that they would be it. The it to beat all other it’s. But Solomon makes it clear that all those things we try to put in our life – pleasures and riches and advancements – end up being, “meaningless, a chasing after the wind.”

But Solomon also reflects on what he perceived to be good in this world:

I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil – this is the gift of God. {Ecclesiastes 3:12}

***

So I saw that there is nothing better for a person than to enjoy their work.
{Ecclesiastes 3:22}

***

When God gives someone wealth and possessions, and the ability to enjoy them, to accept their lot and be happy in their toil – this is a gift of God.
{Ecclesiastes 5:19}

***

So I commend the enjoyment of life, because there is nothing better for a person under the sun than to eat and drink and be glad. Then joy will accompany them in their toil all the days of the life God has given them under the sun.
{Ecclesiastes 8:15}

Enjoy your work. Enjoy your blessings. Enjoy your lot in life. You know that old saying, “You get what you get and you don’t complain,” I think Solomon coined that a few thousand years ago.

This is what I need to find rest in: It’s all for nothing without Christ, so let Christ be enough. Be happy in Christ. I need to stop myself from making this big, long list of things that will equal the best life ever and just be happy with the life I have now with Christ by my side. Be happy in Christ, sister.

 

3 comments on “Hit Me Over the Head with It, Why Don’t Ya

  1. Sara
    April 18, 2014

    Thanks for the much needed reminder friend 🙂 xoxo!

    • Ashlee
      April 20, 2014

      Glad you enjoyed it love!

  2. Pingback: Shut Up Brain | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2014 by in Bible, Christianity, Faith, Jesus and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

