Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Focus on Diligence

Reading this verse has me wondering how eager I am to chase after what is right and good:

“Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify to himself a people that are His very own, eager to do what is good.” { Titus 2:14 }

I’m always eager to read. I’m almost always eager to write. I’m not always eager to pray and read the Bible each day. I’m not always eager to say no to something I really want.

I understand there are ups and downs in every relationship. Sometimes I find myself excited to be in His word and look forward to filling my car with Christian music on my way to work, but then there are days when I put off my quiet time until the very last minute before I flip off the light to go to bed and don’t seek hope and encouragement when I know I should. Sometimes I’m just not eager.

25398086_s

With lots of things in life, sometimes our focus has to be on diligence. It’s what we can lean on to get you through the days, weeks, months that feel too hard. I’ve never trained for a marathon, but I’m sure diligence is what gets you out the door some days verses an eagerness to run for three hours straight. I’m coming to realize that even when my heart isn’t eager, it’s still important that I stay diligent with seeking God each day. Just like it’s important to diligently pursue your hobby, healthy living, mothering/fathering, working, (you fill in whatever you want here), knowing that over time we get great at what we’re doing and the joy of it finds us once again.

God is deserving of so much more than I bring to Him and deep down I want to find that continuous eagerness to be near Him; I think it starts with being diligent enough to honor my commitment and show up each day even when I’m less than eager.

So many things can stand in the way of you and your goal, you and your love, you and your God. It’s easy to get distracted and stray from the course you have set out on – what once brought you joy might be a thorn in your side. We must ride the ups and downs, determining not to give up even when it’s the last thing we want to do. Focus on diligence.

As we prepare to take the youth group back to Bigstuf Camp in a few weeks, I’m reminded of how so many of our students come back from a week focused on God to find a new fire in them for walking with Jesus. They make commitments to read the Bible, start serving at church, make youth group a priority, break off unhealthy relationships. They are eager to live out His word.

Then a few weeks go by. Then school starts up. Then life happens.

I’m guilty of it too.  I let a lot of things break me from feeling eager to pursue what is right and true and perfect and beautiful. I let a lot of things change my focus when where it needs to be – each and every day – is up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2014 by in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

