Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Edit Novel: ✓

After seven months, I finally quit making excuses and hunkered down to edit my NaNo novel! (insert self high-five here!!)

I’ve adopted the chronic bad habit of writing something and then never looking at it again. I was determined not to do this to my first novel, and slowly but surely I’d take a look at it when I had some free time. Correct a spelling error here, insert additional back story there. But I know me pretty well and I know I would put if off forever if I didn’t give myself a deadline (which was the reason the silly novel got written in the first place).

Summer is here, vacation starts tomorrow, no more excuses.

It’s a very short novel – the original draft coming in at 58,100 words and the edited first draft coming in at 56,254 – and it needs a lot of work. Let me say that again: A. LOT. OF. WORK.

photo 2 (16)My celebration kit – cheap wine and expensive ice cream (you can clearly tell where my priorities are.)

I’ve been an avid reader for years so I figured I must already be an expert at this whole writing a novel thing.

Wrong.

During the writing and editing process, I was amazed at how hard it is to put together scenes and story lines and characters. Things don’t naturally flow from your fingers in the exact order they should. The beautiful scenes you envision in your head don’t turn into perfect words on the page. This is hard stuff.

I’m the rude girl who picks up a novel at the library, reads the first chapter, and then thinks, ‘This is crap. I can write better than this. How did this get published?”

I’ll never think that again. 

It’s an amazing and hard feat to get anything good on paper and then into the hands of someone who cares about it. My eyes have been opened, I assure you.

I hate sharing my work so as soon as I made the last edit, I fired off a few emails to friends who have been kind enough to ask about the WIP over the past seven months. I needed to hit send before I had too much time to think about it. Hopefully they’ll be able to tell me if I have the bones for a good story or just a giant mess of words. Fingers crossed! 🙂

Either way, no matter how terrible it is, I’m happy I can say I’ve written a novel. That’s certainly something worth celebrating! 

2 comments on “Edit Novel: ✓

  1. Sam
    June 8, 2014

    Congratulations! That’s a huge accomplishment! I’m reading through my NaNo right now and I hope to do the editing you did soon. Good luck moving forward with it!

  2. Pingback: 30 Things I Won’t Wish I Had Done During My Life | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

