Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Go Minimalist with Me, People

I’m a girl who is a sucker for a challenge. So when I saw The Minimalist Challenge over at And Then We Saved, I knew immediately that I wanted to try it. The idea was started by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, two dudes who focus on minimizing the things in their life to maximize their happiness and meaning in life. They recently published a book, Everything that Remains, a memoir of how they changed their thinking and their lives to embrace the benefits of living with less. They came up with the Minimalist Game with rules as follow:

  • On the first day of the month, get rid of one thing in your house.
  • On the second day of the month, get rid of two things.
  • On the third day, get rid of three things.
  • On the fourth day, get – I’m sure you get the point!

So every day you are getting rid of one more thing than the prior day, until you get to the end of the month and 465 things you don’t love, need, want, or care about are out of your life. Talk about a weight off of your shoulders!

I was hoping to get my hands on a copy of Everything that Remains before starting the challenge, but the library tells me it’ll be about January before my hold is up. And since I’ll soon be in the business of getting rid of things (and since I’m cheap), I didn’t splurge and buy a copy. The review will have to wait.

I shared that I was recently hit up alongside the head by 7 by Jen Hatmaker (this is like the fifth time I’ve references this book. It hit me that hard! Read it, people!) for my quest to make my simple and cheap life about me instead of Him so I think it’s interesting that this challenge has found me. There is a purpose to this, I’m sure of it.

I’ve been living a simple, pared down life for a few years now. I was working hard to pay off my student loans and to afford a small apartment on my own. When I stopped buying things, I stopped wanting things. It’s strange how that happens. So with this in mind, a large part of me is convinced I can’t come up with 465 items to get rid. But the small part of me that remains has a feeling I will be shocked and dismayed by what is hidden under my bed and in the back of closed cabinet doors. My idea of less is about to become, well – less.

Ninety percent of my apartment is hand-me-downs from friends and loved ones so I don’t think I’ll find much that is worth selling. If I do, I’ll try swap and sell sites to make a few bucks for my mission trip fund. I’m sure the bulk of my crap will be recycled/trashed or donated.

My apartment will be broken down into four sections. Each designated week, I will only focus on purging items in:

  • Week One: The Kitchen
  • Week Two: The Bathroom & Small Closets
  • Week Three: The Living Room, Main Closet, & Office
  • Week Four: The Bedroom

I currently occupy a one-bedroom, 750 sq. ft. apartment to give you an idea of what I’m up against. You’ll get weekly updates in September on my progress, but I wanted to post this early so you have the long holiday weekend to consider joining me. (Do it, do it!)

Just like Anna at And Then We Saved, I’ll be posting pictures of all the crap I’m getting rid of. We have a weird fascination with other people’s junk, right? Isn’t this why we made yard sales a thing? I was curious to know what she had going on, and in case you’re curious to see what I’ve got going on, I’ll give you plenty of evidence.

Thirty days and 465 ways to make more with less. 

UPDATE: See how I did!

Week 1: The Kitchen
Week 2: The Bathroom & Small Closets
Week 3: The Living Room & Main Closet
Week 4: The Bedroom

8 comments on “Go Minimalist with Me, People

  1. Sam
    August 28, 2014

    Good luck, Ashlee! What a great challenge for you. I hope one of the things you hold on to is the next Read-Along book!
    Best of luck to you! I’m sure I’ll be following you (though in not such an organized way) in October when I move. I’m notorious for saying, “I don’t want to move that,” when I pack.
    Take care!

    • Ashlee
      August 29, 2014

      Thanks, Sam! Moving is definitely a time when you figure out how attached you are to something. 🙂 I hope the move goes smoothly for you both.

      Just purchased a copy of the next Read-Along book. I’ll keep it far away from my purge piles! Enjoy the long weekend –
      Ash

  2. Pingback: Time | Life { Faith } Tea

  3. Pingback: Minimalist Monday // The Kitchen | Life { Faith } Tea

  4. Pingback: Minimalist Monday // The Bedroom | Life { Faith } Tea

  5. Pingback: Minimalist Monday // Everything that Remains | Life { Faith } Tea

  6. Pingback: Minimalist Monday: Want Less, Live More | Life { Faith } Tea

  7. Pingback: Minimalist Monday: The Japanese Art of Decluttering | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

