Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Praying for the Best

Pray is one thing that was a part of my faith journey even before I knew I was on it. I remember lying in bed at night as a little girl and starting each prayer with, “Thank you for mom and dad, my sister and brother, and Boomer and Lilee.” I didn’t have a real idea at the time who exactly God is or where exactly He would take us, but I had a longing to talk to Him.

As a member of the prayer team at church, we gather a few times a year to share powerful prayer experiences, encourage one another, and discuss ways we can become better at the act of talking to God. One lady shared that she has stopped praying for what she believes is the right answer to the pray requests we receive. We see a small sentence on a piece of paper, and it’s easy to assume that we know exactly what is needed.

However, she knows that what is more important than the answer we believe these people are seeking is for God’s best to reign down on their life. Whatever that is and however that looks, she simply prays for God’s best for them.

What a simple yet profound way to look at it. We need nothing more than God’s best to show up in our lives. More often than not, it probably won’t remotely resemble what we believe God’s best is for us, but that is the beauty of being the created instead of the Creator. We know not what we know little or nothing of.

So I’ve worked on applying this simple truth to my life, as well. My prayers can still go a little along the lines of, “I need this and this and this by Tuesday, k God?” But when I pause to remember that I need nothing more than God, I can be intentional about asking for only His best. For an open heart, an open mind, and an open life to let His best work through me.

Prayer isn’t for getting. It’s for building a relationship. It’s for softening our hearts. It’s for letting our eyes see. 

{ Colossians 4:2 } points out that we should, “Devote ourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”

And { 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 } reminds us to, “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances.”

For this is what God wants for us – to draw closer to Him and His best for our lives through our diligent, heartfelt, and honest prayers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2014 by in Faith, Prayer and tagged , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

