Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

What Then?

I’ve been asked this question a few times before. “So, what happens if in the end there’s no bright light? Or pearly gates? No Heaven? No God?”

4484832_s

It’s certainly a valid question. I have no proof, other than my faith, that there is in fact something or Someone waiting for us on the other side. Whenever the question comes up, and no matter which angle I look at it, I still come to the same conclusion – all of this that I believe in and set my life according to will absolutely be worth it regardless of the outcome.

I can understand how non-believers would look at a life of a Christ-follower as a waste if it turns out there is no real Christ we were following. But what they don’t know, and what I do, is the life transformation that happened because of this journey of faith. My attitude, my money, my time, my hopes, my dreams have all changed for the better because of God and His son and His word. The Ashlee before Christ and the Ashlee after Christ are two very different people, and I prefer post-Ashlee.

Wherever I turn in the Bible, I’m reminded of all the good God calls us to do. Never for one second will I regret striving to “pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance, and gentleness { 1 Timothy 6:11 }” or “do good, be rich in good deeds, and be generous and willing to share { 1 Timothy 6:17-18 }.

Time and time again I’m reminded that the Lord calls us “to act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with [Him] { Micah 6:8 }.

So how can that be so bad? How can living according to a blue print that encourages faithfulness, honesty, integrity, diligence, and love be a waste of time?

Yes, there are things I sacrifice or say no to because I feel God calling me to give those things up. Do they matter enough to me that in the end I’ll be lying in my grave thinking, “If only I hadn’t bought into that whole Jesus thing so I could have enjoyed X, Y, Z.” I doubt it. The small sacrifice of giving them up will never compare to the richness of growing myself and my abilities in a way that can impact someone else simply out of love.

For the short time we’re on this Earth, we can choose to make it about us or about something larger than us. In a world that is filled with horrible, rotten, unimaginable grief at times, I can’t help but cling to the fact that there has to be more than this. And when I look around at the pain, the beauty, and the complexity of this world, I can’t help but question, “All of this because two random specks of dust run into each other?”

The belief that I cling to of who this Jesus man is gives me strength and endurance to build a better life for myself and a better world for those around me. We’re all in this together, whether we want to accept it or not, so let us start living like we’re really all in this together. Regardless of the magnificent prize of Heaven that I trust is real. Regardless of a God and a Son who love and save. Regardless of faith. Regardless of anything else except the fact that we have a responsibility for one another. Yes, I refer to it as, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” but I’m sure you refer to it as something too. Because deep within all of us is a desire to experience life with others, and to live it to the fullest while there is still time.

So, again I say no. Even if one day I find out I’m wrong, I’ll never regret choosing good over evil, choosing healthy sacrifices over self-serving indulgencies, choosing to save so I can share, and choosing to love so I can inspire. Those things sound like ingredients for a happy life, no matter the end result.

“Stand at the crossroads and look;…ask where the good way is and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.”
Jeremiah 6:16

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Bible, Faith, God, Hope and tagged , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

