Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Seeking Dedicated, Diligent, Selfless Workers

tea plantation

“When Jesus saw the crowds, he had compassion on them because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to His disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.’” { Matthew 9:36-37 }

The last part of that verse has been sitting heavy in my heart lately. I came across it a few nights ago and tears started rolling down my cheeks before I even realized it. Maybe it’s because I spent the better part of a morning reading through heartbreaking stories in the Salvation Army Adopt-a-Family profiles as I tried to pick which family my company would sponsor this year. Maybe it’s because I’m working diligently to start volunteering with an after-school center where some children don’t eat again after the meal that is provided at the center on Friday night until they get to school Monday morning. Maybe it’s because all of us in the St. Louis area are holding our breath as we wait for what will happen next in Ferguson.

My heart breaks for the “harvest,” the work that needs to be done, and right now it feels daunting. There is so much that needs to be done to reach the broken, to heal the sick, to feed the hungry, to bring hope to the hopeless, and when I think about this work I wonder how we’ll ever do enough.

Real Simple Magazine recommended five small ways to show compassion in their Life Lessons column this month and on the list was “Let your heart break.” Melinda Gates, co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, states,

“The world is full of what seem like intractable problems. Often we let that paralyze us. Instead, let it spur you to action. There are some people in the world that we can’t help, but there are so many more that we can. So when you see a mother and her children suffering in another part of the world, don’t look away. Look right at them. Let them break your heart, then let your empathy and your talents help you make a difference in the lives of others. When you volunteer every week or just a few times a year, your time and unique skills are invaluable.”

I think Melinda is spot on. Right now I’m letting it paralyze me and I feel helpless. I feel guilty for all that I have, for the fact that I own so much that I can get rid of 300 items and honestly not even notice that they are gone because there’s still so much left. Then I go down the road of why do some get to have so much while others get to have so little? Why was I blessed to be born in the land of plenty instead of the land of poverty?

Those questions crave answers that I’ll never find, and if I’m not careful I’ll let the paralyzed feeling convince me that it’s not worth trying. That is a lie I don’t want to buy into. I didn’t get to pick the lot I was given in life, but I can control what I do with it. I can choose to use it to bless others knowing that maybe that is why God has trusted me with this life in the first place. After all, it’s not we who get anything done. It’s Him who moves our hands and feet if we let Him. Greater amounts of workers are needed in the field, yes, but God has placed the ready and able out there already. He calls us to rise to the occasion, to love always and everyone, to make a small difference with the talents and resources we have.

That is what my heart must focus on now. God’s done the break it part – now it’s time for me to respond.

One comment on “Seeking Dedicated, Diligent, Selfless Workers

  1. Pingback: Struggle with Reading the Bible? There’s an App for That! | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2014 by in Do Good, Faith, God, Jesus, Serving and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

