Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Mis maletas están empacadas, estoy listo para ir

The lyrics to “Leaving on a Jet Place” have been playing in my head today nonstop. Be thankful you are not here right now to hear me belt it out. 🙂

I leave for my mission trip to El Salvador in just five days. After waiting patiently since August, I can’t believe the time has almost come. Funny how that works some times. With some much needed advice and wardrobe suggestions from a good friend who has been to the country twice, I’m packed and ready to get this show on the road.

FullSizeRender (1)

I’m nervous and giddy and and anxious and overwhelmed. But mostly, I am excited. Excited to see what God has in store for us. I wish I could explain how much the Holy Spirit has been working in me the past few weeks. It has been an emotional roller coaster, and I know He is filling me up with all of His goodness so I can pour it out on those I meet.

A lot of families at my church sponsor a child in El Salvador through Compassion International, and when they hear I am going they always show me a picture of the little girl or boy. Seeing those brilliant smiles makes me so excited to finally get there. I can’t wait to love on some children all week! And I have been in prayer about which child God is leading me to sponsor.

I believe it was Mother Theresa who said, “Live simply so others can simply live.” My heart has definitely been mulling over this idea the past few months. My simple life has too much me in it. It’s time for me to be more open to the world in need, and to stretch my resources out into the hands of another. I know this trip will only confirm that.

One of our main projects will be hosting an outreach day for fathers in the area. In their culture, it is very rare for a father to stay with his family, and you can imagine the devastation this has on the home and in the children’s lives. We’ll offer words of encouragement, stress the importance of committing to raising their children alongside their mother, and share examples of how Jesus calls us to live.

I’m sure there will be surprise throughout the week, maybe even a bump or two in the road, but the week is His and I know I need to be open to however He wants us to spend it. Please say a prayer for our team! I can’t wait to share the experience with you after we return.

One comment on “Mis maletas están empacadas, estoy listo para ir

  1. Sam
    January 23, 2015

    Buen viaje, Ashlee! Your trip sounds amazing. Best of luck and you’ll be in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2015 by in God, Jesus, Ministry and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

