Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Together

I love being reminded that we’re all in this together. It’s too easy to shut our doors tightly at night, to not look up while we grocery shop, to put in ear buds and tune everyone out at work, to never get past “Hello” in our conversations. I know God knows this because He reminds us again and again to love others as ourselves.

1 Corinthians 12 is an instance where He does just that. While describing all the various parts that make up a body, Paul tell us that no part is better than the other, and no part is completely functional on its own.

“If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as He wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body.”

{ 1 Corinthians 12:17-20 }

In case you don’t see it, Paul’s talking about us. All of us having our unique part, but all of us working together as one. Some of us are the walkers. Some of us are the laborers. Some of us are the thinkers. Some of us as the dreamers. Some of us are the visionaries. Some of us are the listeners.

Apart, we can only cover a small distance compared to the oceans we can span together.

Together.

 

2100960_s

 

Let’s back it up a little bit to 1 Corinthians 31. “Do not cause anyone to stumble.”  Not with our words or actions, not with our indifference or pride, not with our envy or dislike – because we are all one. I never let myself forget when I’m putting stumbling blocks in front of myself. Sometimes I’m my own worst enemy it seems. And I always take the time to point it out to myself.

Yet, I’m sure I threw plenty of stumbling blocks in the road today and I can’t even tell you where I left them, let alone who they will hinder along the way. How protective I am of myself and only myself sometimes.

Why do we discount some as not worthy, useless, dispensable? Why do we force groups into silence, why do we force others into suffering? Apart we are weak, but together we are strong – so at what point do we finally put our hands down in love and start believing it?

And start living.

Together.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2015 by in Bible, Do Good, Faith and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

