Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Living All the Days of Life

Intentional living has been on my mind for months. After finishing Everything that Remains last year, I found myself longing to apply minimalist principles to how I spend my time. I’ve shared before that time is an issue for me. I fill it, cram it, and send it through a blender some weeks all in the name of adding meaning and purpose to my life. I struggle to find a line between saying yes and no to things that are all great, valuable, and enjoyable things. Like friends. And serving.

But in trying to do everything, I don’t get to be intentional about building specific areas of my life that are very important to me. I almost laugh at the word important. How important can it be if you never make time to do it? you might ask.

This quest for less in my schedule led me to Notes from a Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a Chaotic World and Life is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up, Be Mindful, and Live Intentionally. Tsh Oxenreider deems her journey to live intentional as a dare to live her dreams instead of living her default:

“A dare to do more than make a living – a dare to make a life.”

I love the way she phrased that. Yes, at some point during the day you have to pay the bills, but the life you build beyond your paycheck can be filled with the wonder and joys and living that you really want to do.

I’m a compulsive to-do list maker. On any given day, there are at least three or four post-it notes on my desk at the office, on my desk at home, and on my kitchen table. Let’s not forget the lists that are stored on my phone. Luckily I haven’t gone so far as to create lists for my lists, but I wouldn’t put it past me.

Are these lists driving me to intentional living? No. They fuel my need for efficiency if nothing else.

So I stepped back, I looked within, and I meditated on what matters most to me, what my loves are in life. You know, those important things that I sometimes completely forget about. I did some searching to remember my passions. I looked at my dream board again to reflect on what brings me to life.

This is where my heart landed, and how I want my days, my weeks, my months, and my life to be measured. Yet another to-do list, but one that is completely worth doing:

Love the Lord
Serve others
Strengthen relationships
Write with abandon
Explore the world

IMG_4182

I made this to-do list prominent, framing it and placing it on my desk at home. And each day as I sit down, I want to take a moment to look at it and remember to make room for all of them in my life. These areas come first, and everything else comes second. Because life goes in the blink of an eye, in the turn of a page. It runs through our fingers like rain water unless we’re intentional about cupping our hands together to catch every drop. I want to be the girl who drinks of it and goes back for more to share with others. I want to be the girl who reflects on how precious and delicate and perfect each drop is as it gathers in my hands, ready to sustain me. Now is my promise to embrace it and take it in.

 

One comment on “Living All the Days of Life

  1. Pingback: Redefine Your Blessings | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2015 by in Life Lessons, Simple Living and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

