Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Quit Asking God to be with You

31903006_sDo you have a stagnant, default prayer like I do?

Mine usually goes, “God, please be with me in…” or “God, please be with them through…”

I don’t know why this became my go-to. Maybe because deep down I know I’m lost without Him. Maybe because I secretly fear having to go it alone.

My focus is all wrong, though. I’m asking God to do something for me instead of realizing that He is already doing it. Matthew 28:20 promises, “[Jesus] is with you always, to the very end of the age.” Regardless of if I ask, He is already right beside me.

My eyes tend to waver from what I know is constant in my life, leaving me praying senseless prayers instead of grasping truth.

There’s no reason to ask – He’s there. Always.

********

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know Him better.”

{ Ephesians 1:17 }   

********

This verse reminds me that what I need to ask for is a stronger realization that God walks beside me every step of the way. I need to seek wisdom to see where He is working. I need deeper understanding to surrender when the journey looks different than I imagined.

 ********

“And I pray that you may…grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” 

{ Ephesians 3: 17 – 19 }

********

So many of my prayers focus on me and what I think I need in this life. I rarely ask for a deeper awareness of the depth and magnitude of God’s love. The safe comfort of my default prayers means I don’t have to do the work. I simply ask God to do the heavy lifting. 

Yet, I see how I’m shorting myself when I let my prayers and thoughts about God get out of focus. I miss the point and I miss the fullness of Him.

I need to do myself a favor and quit asking God to be with me. I hope you do the same.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2015 by in Faith, God, Hope and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

