Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Your Fears Have Nothing on Your Blessings

24173398_sI hope you are in the midst of family gatherings and feasting right now. I hope your world is full of love and light and good conversation. I hope you feel full – and not from the turkey – but from the beauty of life!

Fears aren’t the upbeat topic that normally come up on this day of thanksgiving, are they? But hear me out on this.

During a Bible study lesson, the group was asked to write down all the things we truly fear in life – deep down fears that sometimes paralyze us. Not spiders. Not falling down in front of co-workers. True fears in life.

It took me a little bit of time to identify what those fears are for me, and after much contemplating I came up with a mere four. Four measly fears that often weigh me down so heavily.

Then we were asked to switch gears and write down all the things we are grateful for. I quickly scribbled down 15 things within a few blinks of my eyes. It was immensely easier to fill that list up.

I remember writing my Thanksgiving post last year, where I shared 100 things I’m thankful for. I came up with that list in a matter of 30 minutes or so.

Our fears are so few in life, but we give them such a big presence. They take over spaces where they shouldn’t be. They blind us to the wonderful things all around us. But blessings abound wherever we look, if we take the time to look.

This exercise helped put my fear into perspective. I hope you take time to do the same today – and every day – to truly see the goodness in your life.

Happy Thanksgiving!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2015 by in Hope, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

