Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Live in Light

43683978_sTragedies keep coming, don’t they? I’m hearing the word fear now more than ever. My co-workers are scared to take their kids into large crowds. My friends are scared to walk the streets at night. My family is scared crime is becoming too common in their quiet little town.

My bestie called last week needing a pep talk (glad I could be there for ya, babe!). She was preparing to leave for her honeymoon but she was scared to travel out of the country. I don’t blame her. A lot of violence has been happening lately. She asked what I would do. I gave her some assurance, telling her if it was me I would run like heck to the airport, enjoy a week away with my new husband, and live my life.

When we got off the phone, this is what I wished I had said:

Holding back from living and fearing the world around you means the darkness wins. It means the evil that causes people to do horrific things wins. When you hold back in fear, the light within you gets a little dimmer, causing the darkness around you to get a little darker.

In times like these – especially in times like these – we need to respond with love instead of fear.

We take a risk every single day when we wake up. We risk our life eating food – plenty of people have choked and met their demise. We risk our life when we drive 70 mph down the freeway – I pass too many gruesome car wrecks. We risk our life when we enjoy a quiet evening at home – house fires, carbon monoxide poisoning, and break-ins are a reality.

Yep, I’m sure being a Debbie Downer right now – but you get my point.

Bad things happen all around us. It’s a fact of life, but it should not be a fact that keeps you from living yours.

I don’t mean to be insensitive to the situations we’ve heard about recently. I wish no one had to go through tragedies like those. But I also don’t want those situations to steal the love and the life out of us.

When we lost a friend at the age of 30 last year, it had us all thinking about his life, our own lives, and what he would have done differently if he had known 30 years was all he would get. I know with certainty that he wouldn’t have held back, stayed at home where it felt safe, or turned away from extending love to others. And I don’t want to either.

Refuse to let fear win. Go, do, love, explore, share, conquer, and experience life, no matter how bleak the world might look. Go out into the darkness and shine a light so others can see. Put faith in the fact that you have the power to make the world a little brighter, a little safer, and a little happier.

I hope you’ll join me in praying for those who have been affected by tragedy recently, both those we have heard about on the news and those we will never hear about but experience it just the same. What an honor it would be to remember the lives that have been lost by bringing love to lives that need it most.

Let’s stand up and step out for them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2015 by in Do Good, Hope, Life Lessons, Serving and tagged , , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

