Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

My Resolution? Take Less Photos

I just transferred 13,000 photos from the past 8 years to a new computer. There is no need for that nonsense. That is way, way, WAY too many photos.

611

The problem is I love to take them. And I’m convinced that someday, someone is going to want to see them. Wrong. My vision of showing them to grandkids will probably never become a reality.

IMG_5031

I’ve only seen a handful of pictures from my mother’s childhood – a few from when she was a baby (because I asked my grandma for them for a project) and her senior portrait (because it has sat on my great-grandma’s TV stand for the past 35 years). That’s it.

Like I said, the grandchildren won’t be bombarding me for trips down memory lane with useless USB sticks in 50 years.

IMG_4701

097

So 2016 is the year I start taking less photos. I’m going to put my phone down, be in the moment, and remind myself that good storytelling can paint a vivid (enough) picture for others to enjoy. The Minimalists share why they’ve even stopped taking photos on vacation. I don’t know if I can pull the plug on that one completely – but I’ll try to keep it below 100 from here on out. 😉

IMG_5354

 

Best of luck with your resolutions in 2016!

5 comments on “My Resolution? Take Less Photos

  1. Morphine Child
    January 3, 2016

    You are wrong. You *should* take as much photos as you like, you only need to delete more of those that aren’t worth keeping 🙂

    • Ashlee
      January 4, 2016

      Great point! I don’t need to quit my hobby – I need to quit abusing my hobby. I’ll take this to heart. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Phantom Paper
    January 3, 2016

    You’re not alone in this. I think people just have this innate urge to try to capture every single memory, in case they forget any. I’m torn between taking as many as I can all the while reminding myself to ‘live in the moment’. It’s a bit of a hard choice. 😁😁😁

    • Ashlee
      January 4, 2016

      A very, very hard choice! Especially since smartphones give us constant access to a camera. Both a blessing and a curse I guess. Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: Minimalist Monday: The Japanese Art of Decluttering | Life { Faith } Tea

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2016 by in Life, Simple Living and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

