Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Make Time for Distractions

29655854_s

Jesus’ life was filled with distractions. The man couldn’t travel anywhere without crowds of people following Him.

When the crowds got to be too much, Mark states, “Jesus could no longer enter a town openly but stayed outside in lonely places. Yet the people still came to him from everywhere.” {Mark 1:45}

The man couldn’t buy privacy if He wanted to!

People were drawn to Him – for a rightful reason – and often times His journeys were met with multiple distractions.

At one point, “Some men came, bringing a paralyzed man with them. Since they could not get to Jesus because of the crowd, they made an opening in the roof…and lowered the mat the man was lying on through the roof.” {Mark 2:3-4}

People stopped at nothing to get to Him. They longed for His power and His words to heal and save them.

“As Jesus and His disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving Jericho, a blind man was sitting by the roadside begging. When he heard it was Jesus, he began to shout, ‘Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!’” {Mark 10:46-47}

I don’t often accept distractions with joy, as Jesus did. I’m a Type A extreme planner who hates when something throws me off course. This is a detriment to me, I know – think of the fun and opportunities I’m missing! – but old habits die hard.

My hope is that I quit focusing on me so much and let more of my life and time be open to others. Jesus often went out of His way to serve others. While He was on the road to serve someone, He would get pulled off course to go serve someone else. His life was devoted to others.

Even though I know I should be, I’m not always the first to raise my hand when a coworker needs help or to go out of my way to lighten a friend’s load – especially if it interferes with my schedule that day.

Sure, it probably took Jesus a lot longer to get to where He was going because of all the distractions. But think of the beauty, joy, healing, and comfort He spread when He took time to turn around and recognize a need.

“A large crowd followed Jesus and pressed around Him. And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. She came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, because she thought, ‘If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.’ Immediately her bleeding stopped. Jesus realized his power had gone out of him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, ‘Who touched my clothes?’” {Mark 5:24-31}

I need a reminder – a constant reminder – that living with open hands, an open heart, and an open door leads to a greater life. There’s certainly something to be said for planning the course – but the plan should always allow for a few worthy distractions along the way.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2016 by in Bible, Do Good, Jesus, Life Lessons, Serving, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

