Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

My Life in a Nutshell

nutshell

My hope is that one day this will be the sum of my life in a nutshell:

“(S)he and all (her) family were devout and God-fearing; (s)he gave generously to those in need and prayed to God regularly.”
{ Acts 10:1 }

This verse is referring to Cornelius, a centurion in the Italian Regiment. He and Peter received a vision from God, showing that Jesus’ sacrifice was for everyone – Jew and Gentile alike. They realized that “God does not show favoritism but accepts from every nation the one who fears him and does what is right.”

The next chapter goes on to follow Peter’s story, but I imagine Cornelius spent the rest of his days proclaiming that truth. I’m sure he shared that hope is for all who want to receive it while he was watching over his family and helping those in need and praying for those who suffered.

It’s a brief statement that says so much. To think of his entire family being as devout as him – I would love to hear their stories of how God used them and blessed them throughout their life. To think that he gave generously to those in need – I would love to know how his small acts of kindness illuminated faces on a dark day. To think that he prayed to God regularly – I would love to know that kind of bond, where nothing comes between us.

I’m sure he understood the power his devotion to God had on the world around him in some ways. I bet he found great joy in his work and his relationships. I bet he clung to peace more than being drug down by fear.

Yet, I’m pretty positive he never knew all the ways God would use him and his story. I doubt he would have believed that a woman 2,000ish years after his death would look at his life and be inspired by it. I bet that wouldn’t have seemed like a possibility to him.

We don’t get to see the full picture – we get our one small, limited view on our life. And even if I never see the victory, I hope that doesn’t stop me from believing that God’s using my life in some way – even if it’s 2,000 years down the line – to bring love to all.

A life devoted to the Lord and others. Yeah, I’d like for that to be me in a nutshell.

2 comments on “My Life in a Nutshell

  1. Rahab2
    February 11, 2016

    I LOVE this. It’s so amazing how one person can inspire us so many years later!

    • Ashlee
      February 15, 2016

      Glad you enjoyed it! It really puts a new perspective on the reach we can have – even beyond our years on earth. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2016 by in Bible, Life Lessons, Serving and tagged , , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

