Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

We’ve Got Spirit, Yes We Do!

I love that when God made us He knew we would struggle to know what we’re doing down here. He knew we would need words of wisdom to cling to. He knew we’d need a shepherd to guide us. And He knew we’d need someone to pray diligently for us.

“The Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”

{ Romans 8:26 }

How amazing is that? How awesome is it that the Spirit already knows what we need months, years before we do and the Spirit is already praying about it?

No life is unimportant or insignificant if God would take such great care to have the Holy Spirit pray for our every step.

At any given point, I often want to take my life in three different directions – all leading away from one another. Most days, I can say with almost certainty that I don’t really know what I want for my future, what I hope life will look like in 10 years. It brings me great comfort to know that even in my uncertainty, the Spirit is already praying for the things I need. He’s already praying for the right doors to open, the right decisions to be made, the right direction for my life.

It’s comforting and humbling to know the Spirit is praying the words I cannot find on my own.

1 Corinthians 2 goes on to say,

“The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. For who knows a person’s own thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God.”

Not only is the Spirit praying over me constantly, but also He is connecting me to the God I love and want to better understand. The Spirit knows God wholly because the Spirit is God. The Spirit knows me completely because He lives in me. It’s this amazing gift – this amazing blessing – that helps me realize where and how and when I need to be more like Him. My human brain will never comprehend the magnitude of God, but the Spirit connects me with Him nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2016 by in Bible, Christianity and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

