Life { Faith } Tea

and ramblings on everything in between

Quit Misusing Your Imagination

52119252_s

My anxiety has worsened with age – likely due to a more realistic view of the world, too much time alone with my thoughts, and the daily stress of adulting. I can find a way to worry about anything.

The quirky quotes on church signs are the best. The smaller the church, the better. But they are often thought provoking as well. Like this one:

“Worry is misused imagination.”

How true. My daydreams are often sidetracked by fears. My thoughts are often filled with petty worries about how I look or how I’m perceived by others. My energy is often depleted because I worry I won’t have time to get to all the to-do floating around in my head.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?”
{ Matthew 6:25 }

In the grand scheme of things, the items I worry about daily are insignificant. My life has no true struggles – just fake ones I amplify in my mind. I use my imagination to develop worst case scenarios instead of best case dreams. I let worry steal my thunder instead of using faith to unleash my roar.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways, submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.”
{ Proverbs 3:5-6 }

And I shamefully know my anxiety is due to a lack of trust in Him. If I fully trusted in Him and gave every area of my life over to Him, there would be no need to worry about what life might throw at me. My path would be straight and my steps would be clear.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
{ Philippians 4:6-7 }

When my imagination runs wild will worry, I’m quickly sucked down a long, dark hole. I waste precious time and precious energy making my world smaller, as anxiety surrounds the perimeter – slowly seeping in.

God gave us amazing minds to stretch our possibilities, not limit our capabilities. The Bible says enough about worry to prove that it’s a complete waste of time – and a grave misuse of our imaginations. Worry has no place in our lives and our minds.

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts.”
{ Colossians 3:15 }

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2016 by in Bible, Faith, God, Life Lessons and tagged , , .

What’s that she said?

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

